This week…

This week I’ve had half term so I’ve had a weeks holiday and spent it with mum, as well as trying to revise.

Now we’ve gotten on really well this week, I’ve even started the gym!

I had one incident, I was on the tricep machine and I accidentally let go and one of the handles hit me in the face.

Never let go mid flow!

But, what I learnt this week is that my parents have had a hell of a lot of patience with me. All they’ve been meaning to do is try and prepare me for the ‘adult world’.

With my brain taking time to process instructions and actually understand what people have actually asked me to do, it must be so frustrating for others, even those who know about my dyspraxia, including my parents.

I think mum gets annoyed especially when she asks for a cup of tea, I got to the kitchen and completely forget what tea she asked for or accidentally give her the wrong tea.

Helping people with dyspraxia requires a lot of patience and understanding.

My parents have even bought books and spoken to other parents with other dyspraxic kids to try and understand. Now, not everyone is the same but it can give you some piece of mind and make you feel a little prepared for what’s to come.

Before I was diagnosed with dyspraxia I didn’t know what was wrong with me, and why I kept getting everything wrong and why people kept asking “why aren’t you getting this? It’s so simple!” It caused so much frustration, emotion and tears for myself, as how am I supposed to tell you if I don’t even know myself?!

Time and patience, is what is needed. It won’t make dyspraxia disappear it’s with us for life but it can make things easier. Trust me.

The two most powerful warriors are patience and time – Leo Tolstoy

Yours sincerely, Maddie🦁🖤

Leave a Reply

